The branch of medicine specializing in the use of drugs or other agents that causes insensibility to pain with or without altered level of consciousness. Anaesthesiology may also be defined as continuity of patient care involving preoperative evaluation, intraoperative and postoperative care and the management of systems and personnel that support these activities. The sub specialities within anaesthesiology include cardiothoracic anaesthesiology, critical care, neuro-anaesthesia, obstetrical anaesthesiology, pain management, paediatric anaesthesiology etc.

The Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care at AJ Institute of Medical Sciences is comprised of not less than twenty staff anaesthetists who are involved in clinical care, education and research in various areas throughout the hospital. The Department of Anaesthesiology provides perioperative care to all the patients who comes through the operating rooms round the clock. AJ Institute of Medical Sciences performs several thousand surgical procedures per year, which include general surgical, cardiac, neurosurgical, vascular, orthopaedic, plastics, ophthalmic, gynaecologic, urologic, and and minimally invasive surgery. We also provide care to patients undergoing procedures in locations outside the main operating room such as Labour analgesia and the CT and MRI suites. In addition, many patients are seen in the Pre-anaesthesia Consult cum Pain Clinic, which runs on all working days from 0800 to 1630 hours. Many staff also have other clinical appointments including attending the Critical Care Units (Medical/Surgical Unit, Neurosurgical/Trauma Unit and Cardiovascular Surgical Unit), providing acute and chronic pain management, and functioning as Trauma Team Leaders.

Members of the Department are also actively involved in undergraduate and postgraduate education and training programmes. Several members of the department are particularly interested in education-related research. In addition, members of the department are actively involved in research at the basic science and clinical levels and supervise postgraduate and undergraduate students.